The 15th British Promotional Merchandise Association’s Annual General Meeting was held at The London Mathematical Society, Russell Square on Wednesday 7th November 2018.

Graeme Smith opened his Chairman’s review by summarising industry challenges and opportunities, the successful Merchandise World shows, research, member benefits, education, events for 2018 and 2019 and more, including the BPMA’s Product Media Magazine which is now the principle magazine for the industry and continuing to grow.

At the AGM, the financials for year ending May 2018 were presented by Alex Turner and unanimously approved.

On a proposal by the board the following officers were unanimously confirmed – Graeme Smith as President, Angela Wagstaff as Chairman and Alex Turner as Vice Chair and Finance Director.

Having been Vice Chair for the last 2 years, Angela commented: “I am delighted to step into the role of Chairman and I look forward to new beginnings with our highly experienced Board and a new CEO at the Secretariat. I would like to thank Graeme for his hard work and dedication during his term as Chairman”.

The BPMA also welcomed a further 4 new Board Directors, namely Mark Alderson – First Editions, Helen Brennan – Brand Addition, Andrew Langley – Juniper Products and Haydn Willetts – Mid Ocean Brands, all bringing with them a wealth of invaluable industry knowledge and experience.

All members were invited to attend the AGM and the BPMA were pleased to welcome representatives from Galpeg, Print Kick, Innerworkings and Sow Easy. The BPMA encourages more members to attend the next AGM.

In his new role as CEO, this was Jon Birrell’s first AGM.  Jon commented “This is an exciting time for the BPMA with a fresh pair of eyes at the Secretariat and also the Board. I look forward to working with Angela and the Board on the strategic direction of the association.”

BPMA members requiring more information regarding the AGM should email


Photo from L to R: Alex Turner, Inder Brar, Helen Brennan, Andrew Langley, Jon Birrell, Clive Allcott, Neal Beagles, Graeme Smith, Angela Wagstaff, Matt Franks, Brian Hayward, Mark Alderson, Jamie Gray, Melissa Chevin, Haydn Willetts, Paul Green and Simon Dipple.